2014 Season

Kansas City Dance Festival

KCDF_2013_GROUPshot copy.jpg

This year marks the 2nd annual performance of the Kansas City Dance Festival. KCDF 2014 will provide a diverse repertoire performed by professional dancers from our community as well as artists from other world-acclaimed ballet companies. By featuring local artists alongside guest artists, it is our hope to create an inspiring performance that enhances the already vibrant dance culture within the city.

This year’s festival will pay homage to Kansas City Ballet’s Director Emeritus Todd Bolender. In honor of Bolender’s centennial birthday, we will be presenting his masterpiece set to Claude Debussy’s String Quartet, The Still Point. Dancers from Joffrey Ballet, Pennsylvania Ballet, and Kansas City Ballet will be performing Vasily Vainonen’s virtuosic Flames of Paris pas de deux, and Marius Petipa’s breathtaking Le Corsaire Bedroom Pas de Deux.

Nashville Ballet dancers will perform Under The Lights by Christopher Stuart. His work is widely coveted in the dance world, as it is one of the only pieces to have the musical rights given to it from the Cash Family Estate. Co-artistic director, Anthony Krutzkamp, will be presenting another world premiere after receiving accolades from the Kansas City Star, KC Metropolis, and the KC Independent for his 2013 Kansas City Dance Festival creation Similar. Jennifer Owen will also be presenting her meditative piece Long Day/Good Night.

We are humbly honored to present Marco Goecke’s famous work Mopey. Marco Goecke is undoubtedly one of the most praised young choreographers of the moment and is the recipient of the prestigious Nijinsky Award (2006) as emerging choreographer.  Estonian National Ballet will be presenting the beautiful and ethereal Adagio from “Othello,” by Marina Kesler. For this year’s closer we chose to invite acclaimed choreographer Ma Cong back again to win the hearts of audience members with his festive and dynamic work Calling.

It is going to be the dance performance of the summer.  We hope to see you there.

Anthony Krutzkamp and Logan Pachciarz